Quarter.
This week marked a pretty decent milestone in the chemotherapy world -- it was round 3/12. That means we've completed 25% of the scheduled treatment sessions. A quarter of the way done. Boy, does it feel nice to be able to say that. Soon we'll be halfway...Lord, I pray it's working.
I must admit, going into this treatment, I just wasn't feeling it. Not that going into chemo you're ever just jumping up and down, but there is a certain part of you that's excited to just cross it off the list. I can't say I was even looking forward to that part of it. Something felt off, and I can't quite put my finger on it. However, once I got there, all was well. The treatment went as expected, I napped for a good portion of it as I so often do. I went to a friend's house after and napped some more. Overall, it went well.
I do believe however newer symptoms are popping up. Or perhaps I just didn't notice them before. First off, chemo brain is a real thing. We all know I wasn't the brightest fruit loop in the cheerio box before this, and that's fine. Truly. I'm not mad about it, but it is the truth. However, now, it's just so much worse. I forget and forget and forget. I forgot to show up to work on Friday. I forgot why I was going to town the other day. I forget the day of the week hourly. Sometimes I'll forget the text I'm in the middle of typing -- how do you forget what you are typing as you're typing it? I don't know, okay? I'm tired of forgetting and being unable to think of what I'm saying. And we just got started with this. Secondly, coming off of steroids does something to a person. I'm directed to take a dose Thursday, Friday, and Saturday following chemo. And Sunday starts in the body aches. Well, they're not aches, I'm just not sure what to make of them. My body is sore to the touch. It's like a sunburn once you get into the shower. Yikes. And I won't fail to mention the heartburn. Geesh, I never thought eating nothing could cause heartburn. How rudeeee!
With all that put aside, we are walking into a new week and it must be fine. This is the first week since December I haven't had any appointments of any kind, just work. I'm babysitting on Tuesday and working my normal hours at FTC on Friday and Saturday. Since it's spring break for most of the tiny humans around here, I'm hoping to pick them up and go for ice cream or something. A hot fudge sundae sounds so nice, am I right?!
So, I think that's it. There's not much to say - my head is feeling rather blank. Until next week...
Comments
Post a Comment